International Destinations

Wild Atlantic Way: The Bay Coast

The Wild Atlantic Way, or Slí an Atlantaigh Fhiáin in Irish, is a 1,553-mile (2,500km) driving route that passes through nine counties and three provinces of Ireland’s west coast. The route is divided into six different regions with 157 discovery points, 1,000 attractions, and more than 2,500 activities.

The Bay Coast is home to some of Ireland’s most well-known and unique landscapes and encompasses northern County Kerry, County Clare, and southern County Galway.

For one of the days we spent on the west coast of Ireland, we opted to explore the Wild Atlantic Way in the counties of County Galway and County Clare. We started in Galway and headed south ending at Cliffs of Moher.

You might also like: Wild Atlantic Way: The Cliff Coast

Below are some of the sites you will see along the way, including famous vistas and ancient natural treasures. The can’t miss moments of The Bay Coast are the city of Galway, Connemara National Park, Kylemore Abbey, Killary Harbour, Aasleagh Falls, and Croagh Patrick.

Ballintleva, County Galway

Roadside Waterfall, County Galway

Killary Harbor, County Galway & County Mayo

Kylemore Abbey, County Galway