International Destinations

Wild Atlantic Way: The Cliff Coast

The Wild Atlantic Way, or Slí an Atlantaigh Fhiáin in Irish, is a 1,553-mile (2,500km) driving route that passes through nine counties and three provinces of Ireland’s west coast. The route is divided into six different regions with 157 discovery points, 1,000 attractions, and more than 2,500 activities.

The Cliff Coast is home to some of Ireland’s most well-known and unique landscapes and encompasses northern County Kerry, County Clare, and southern County Galway.

For one of the days we spent on the west coast of Ireland, we opted to explore the Wild Atlantic Way in the counties of County Galway and County Clare. We started in Galway and headed south ending at Cliffs of Moher.

You might also like: Wild Atlantic Way: The Cliff Coast

Below are some of the sites you will see along the way, including famous vistas and ancient natural treasures. The can’t miss moments of The Cliff Coast are Aran Islands, Cliffs of Moher, Loop Head Lighthouse, Flaggy Shore, Doolin Cave, and Bunratty Castle.

Murrooghtoohy, County Clare

Fanore, County Clare

Doolin Pier, County Clare

Doonagore Castle, Ballycullaun, County Clare

Cliffs of Moher, County Clare

Bunratty Castle, Bunratty, County Clare